Disclosure:
Affiliate Commissions

While vpnMentor may receive commissions when a purchase is made using our links, this has no influence on the reviews content or on the reviewed products/services. We provide direct links to purchase products that are part of affiliate programs.

• Ownership

vpnMentor is owned by Kape Technologies PLC, which owns the following products: CyberGhost, ZenMate, Private Internet Access, and Intego, which may be reviewed on this website.

• Professional Reviews

vpnMentor contains reviews that are written by our community reviewers, and are based on the reviewers' independent and professional examination of the products/services.

• Reviews Guidelines

The reviews published on vpnMentor are written by experts that examine the products according to our strict reviewing standards. Such standards ensure that each review is based on the independent, professional and honest examination of the reviewer, and takes into account the technical capabilities and qualities of the product together with its commercial value for users, which may also affect the product's ranking on the website.

How to REALLY Delete Your Twitter Account in 3 Seconds (2021)

how to delete Twitter

So you’ve decided that you are no longer comfortable using Twitter, or you have decided that you really do need to halt the spread of that embarrassing Tweet that you posted.

Well, the good news is that it is entirely possible to permanently delete your account.

It’s also really simple to do – once you know-how! All you need to do is just follow those steps.

BE AWARE: Every click, every share, and every download can be and is tracked, stored, and sold by app creators, internet service providers, and telecom companies. Only a VPN like NordVPN can protect you and prevent these third parties from collecting and selling your sensitive data.

Get better privacy TODAY with NordVPN!

How to Delete Your Twitter Account

Step 1 – Sign into Twitter

Sign into your Twitter account. This needs to be done via the full site rather than the Twitter app, as the app doesn’t include the deactivation link.

Twitter log in

Log in to Twitter.

Step 2 – Go to Settings and Privacy

Click on your profile and select the Settings and Privacy option under More, in the menu on the left-hand side of the page.

Click on settings and privacy.

Step 3- Click on Deactivate my Account

Scroll down to the bottom of the page and click the ‘Deactivate my account’ link.

Deactivate account

Select Deactivate Your Account from the menu.

Step 4 – Confirm your Decision

At this point, you are redirected to a confirmation page. If you are sure that you want to go ahead with removing your account, then click the big blue Deactivate button at the bottom of the message.

Confirm deactivation

Confirm you want to deactivate your account.

Step 5 – Enter Your Password

You are now taken to a page that double-checks that you really want to delete your account. To confirm that you want to take this action, enter your password and click the Deactivate button.

Confirm password

Re-enter your password to confirm.

Step 6 – Uninstall the app

If you have the Twitter app on your phone, tablet, or another device, uninstall the app.

You cannot deactivate your account from the app, but accidentally clicking on the app will reverse the deactivation process within the first 30 days after you have chosen to deactivate the account. So, the best course of action is to remove the app itself.

Step 7 – Don’t log into your account for 30 days

You are almost there, but it is crucial to note again that there is a 30-day deactivation period.

If during this time you log into your account, or any apps or services that are integrated with Twitter, you will find that your Twitter account is no longer deactivated. You’ll need to go through the process again.

The best way to avoid this is to go through all your apps and services and disconnect them from your Twitter account. Yes, this is time-consuming, but it is necessary to ensure that your deactivation becomes permanent to safeguard your privacy.

Once you complete these 7 steps and avoid logging in for 30 days, your account is gone for good.

This includes all your contacts and any direct messages that you have sent or received.

However, as with most other services, any information shared on other pages or with other people through Direct Messaging still exists on the receiver’s end.

This is important to note, because if you’re hoping to wipe all traces of an embarrassing conversation, it may not be possible unless the other person is willing to delete the information or deactivate their account as well.

If you’re also interested in deleting your Facebook account, click here.

Was this helpful? Share it!
Did you like this article? Rate it!
I hated it! I don't really like it It was ok Pretty good! Loved it!
Voted by Users
Thank you for your feedback
Comment Comment must be from 5 to 2500 characters long.
EXCLUSIVE OFFER
Get 3 months free
of our #1 rated VPN
LIMITED-TIME OFFER

00

Days

00

Hours

00

Minutes

00

Seconds
Get ExpressVPN
30-Day Money-Back Guarantee
Image Alt Text - Vendor Logo expressvpn - devices