Disclosure:
Professional Reviews

vpnMentor contains reviews that are written by our community reviewers, and are based on the reviewers' independent and professional examination of the products/services.

• Ownership

vpnMentor is owned by Kape Technologies PLC, which owns the following products: CyberGhost, ZenMate, Private Internet Access, and Intego, which may be reviewed on this website.

• Affiliate Commissions

While vpnMentor may receive commissions when a purchase is made using our links, this has no influence on the reviews content or on the reviewed products/services. We provide direct links to purchase products that are part of affiliate programs.

• Reviews Guidelines

The reviews published on vpnMentor are written by experts that examine the products according to our strict reviewing standards. Such standards ensure that each review is based on the independent, professional and honest examination of the reviewer, and takes into account the technical capabilities and qualities of the product together with its commercial value for users, which may also affect the product's ranking on the website.

Surfshark Review 2021: A Low Price, but Is It Safe to Use?

Vendor Logo of Surfshark
9.6
Worth Considering
Worth Considering
Author Image Kate Richards
Kate Richards | Cybersecurity Researcher
Updated on 21st September 2021

With VPNs, you tend to get what you pay for. So when I saw Surfshark’s super low prices (you can get it for just $2.49/month), I was a bit skeptical about its rave reviews. To find out if it actually lives up to these claims, I tested every single aspect of Surfshark, including speeds, security features, unblocking abilities, network reliability, and device compatibility.

I also took a closer look at Surfshark’s privacy policy to verify its validity, and put its customer support team to the test. The results were impressive — Surfshark is incredibly safe to use, has a lot of strong security features that the average VPN doesn’t offer, and is very user-friendly.

There is still room for improvement in some areas, especially considering its server network is pretty small compared to many other VPNs. I would personally recommend ExpressVPN if you want a more reliable network and better global coverage.

Best VPN Deals September 2021

Get ExpressVPN at 49% Off!

Get IPVanish for just $3.75/month!

Discounts applied automatically

Short on Time? Here Are My Key Findings

  • Great for unblocking streaming sites. I was able to unblock more than 20 Netflix libraries (including the US), Amazon Prime Video, BBC iPlayer, and 17 other platforms. See my full streaming test results here.
  • Fast enough for HD streaming and even gaming. I had consistently fast speeds on all the servers I tested, with only minor slowdowns over long distances. Check out my detailed speed tests here.
  • Small but stable network. I was impressed that the servers I tested were all super reliable. I was impressed that the servers I tested were all super reliable, especially since there’s less coverage than other top VPNs. See my full analysis of Surfshark’s server network here.
  • Military-grade encryption and strong security features. Surfshark offers all the advanced security features I’d expect from a top VPN and even has some I’ve never seen from any other VPN. Here is my breakdown of all the security features and how they work.
  • Protects your privacy. Surfshark has a strict no-logs policy and doesn’t store any of your identifiable information. I found its privacy policy super accessible and was impressed by its level of transparency. Read more about what Surfshark does to keep your data safe here.
  • Offers a 30-day money-back guarantee. I tested this refund policy and had all my money back 4 days after contacting customer service. This is a great way to test Surfshark for free to see if you like it.

Surfshark Features — Updated in September 2021

Note: This product is currently not available on our site

Price $2.49/month
Money Back Guarantee 30
Does VPN keep logs? No
Number of servers 3200
Number of devices per license Unlimited
Kill switch Yes
Based in country Virgin Islands (British)
Support 24/7 Live Chat Support
Supports torrenting Yes

Streaming — Unblocks 20+ Streaming Platforms Including US/UK Netflix and Disney+

Surfshark performed really well when I tested its ability to bypass geo-restrictions. I had almost no issues unblocking US/UK Netflix, Disney+, BBC iPlayer, Hulu, HBO Max and others. Surfshark even managed to bypass Amazon Prime Video’s notoriously powerful geoblocks in 2 of the regions I tested. Although some platforms required me to switch servers a few times to find one that worked, it didn’t take me long to find one. The only sites I couldn’t access at all were Sling TV, Sky TV, and France TV.

After testing 50+ server locations, I was able to unblock the following streaming sites:

Netflix Disney+ Hulu Amazon Prime Video
HBO Max & Go BBC iPlayer DAZN Hotstar
Peacock TV Crunchyroll Fubo TV YouTube TV
YLE Areena Yle AbemaTV ESPN & ESPN+
ITV Hub All 4 Stan Crave

Unblocked Netflix US/UK (and other local libraries)

All 24 US (and all 3 UK) server locations worked with Netflix. Since Netflix is constantly working to block VPN connections, it’s common for some servers to eventually stop working. Having so many (that actually work!) is really useful — even if a server does go down, you can easily find another one that’s up and running.

Screenshot showing Surfshark unblocking US Netflix

It was no problem accessing US Netflix — all 24 US servers worked

I could even watch US Netflix while connected to some EU servers, which I found a bit strange. I contacted customer service to ask why this was happening — they told me it was a secret, but that it’s perfectly safe and gives you faster speeds to watch US Netflix because you can use servers closer to your actual location.

Screenshot showing Surfshark customer support explaining how US Netflix works on other regions' servers.

Customer support clarified the rerouted connection is safe to use and helps increase speeds for long-distance users

This means that even if an EU server can’t access a particular Netflix library, Surfshark will direct you automatically to US Netflix (which has the largest number of shows anyway) so you can start streaming. I thought this was more convenient than getting shown a Netflix error message and having to spend time finding a different working server. Just to make sure, I ran tests on the Czech and Danish servers that were defaulting to US Netflix — I had no leaks (so it’s safe) and my speeds were faster than when I connected to US servers (because they’re closer to my location in Belgium). It ended up being a win-win situation. Apart from US and UK Netflix, Surfshark also reliably unblocked other popular libraries including Australia, Canada, Japan, and France:

Surfshark unblocked? Fast speeds for HD streaming? Lag?
US Yes No
UK Yes No
Australia Average Minimal
Canada Yes No
Japan Average Minimal
France Yes No
India Average Minimal
Mexico Average Minimal
Germany Yes No
Portugal Yes No

I also managed to access 12 other local libraries (connected to the servers listed in brackets): Belgium, Brazil, Italy (Rome), Netherlands, Norway, Philippines, Singapore, Spain (Madrid), Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, and Turkey.

Unblocked Disney+

I had no issues unblocking Disney+ with Surfshark. I could access it using 10 different US servers including Latham, Buffalo, New York, and Seattle. A couple of times it took a while for the video to load, but after I refreshed my browser it worked perfectly fine.

Screenshot showing Surfshark unblocks Disney+

The picture quality was a bit better on the Latham server than Seattle because it’s closer to my actual location

It’s worth mentioning that no matter which server location I chose, Disney+ usually brought me to the US library. Similar to what happened with Netflix during my tests, Surfshark will bring you to the US Disney+ library if it can’t unblock it in another region, so you’ll always be able to watch it. Disney+ doesn’t differ that much across regions, and the US library is one of the biggest ones, so I was totally fine with this.

Also Unblocks Hulu, Amazon Prime Video, Kodi, and More

It was easy to unblock Hulu. I had to try a couple different servers before I found one that would work, but it only took me a few minutes. The US Latham and Manassas servers kept getting stuck on loading screens, but the Buffalo server (my third choice) worked without a problem.

Screenshot showing Surfshark unblocking Hulu

Once I found a working server I could play Hulu Originals like The Great in HD without buffering

If you want a VPN that consistently and reliably unblocks Hulu without issues, ExpressVPN is my top choice. I’ve tested a lot of VPNs and even top VPNs struggle with Amazon Prime Video. So I wasn’t too surprised that Surfshark can’t unblock Amazon Prime US. Of the 50 servers I tested, only 4 of them managed to unblock APV: the Canadian (Toronto and Vancouver) servers as well as the French (Paris and Marseille) ones.

Screenshot showing Surfshark unblocking Amazon Prime Video

I could only unblock 2 Amazon Prime Video libraries — Canada and France

Even though 2 Prime Video libraries isn’t much, I was impressed that Surfshark was able to penetrate Prime’s rock-solid geo-restrictions.

I could also watch geo-restricted, on-demand content on Kodi’s iPlayer add-on with the UK servers I tested (London and Manchester). Surfshark also worked with other P2P-based media players, like Popcorn Time and VLC.

I had almost no issues unblocking ESPN+, HBO Max, BBC iPlayer, ITV Hub, and All 4 with Surfshark, but a couple streaming services were difficult to access including Hotstar, YouTube TV, and DAZN. I watched Hotstar on all 3 Indian servers and it was almost unwatchable — my speeds were too slow to watch in HD and my video kept buffering every 15 seconds. YouTube TV detected I was using a VPN with almost half the US server locations, but I managed to unblock it using the Charlotte, Latham, and Kansas City options. Lastly, I was finally able to unblock DAZN, but only on Canadian servers.

Speeds — Fast and Consistent Speeds for All Kinds of Online Activity

Surfshark has fast and consistent speeds. When I tested speeds, I examined 3 different things:

  • Download speed is how fast you receive data from the server you’re connected to: loading web pages, streaming, etc. It’s measured in megabits per second (Mbps).
  • Upload speed is how fast you send data to the server: posting on social media, video calling, sending emails, etc. It’s measured in megabits per second (Mbps).
  • Ping is the time it takes for the data to travel. It is measured in milliseconds (ms). The lower your ping, the more responsive your connection will be, which is important for gaming online, for example.

I tested 25+ server locations and didn’t experience significant slowdowns, even on servers more than 15,000 km away from my location in Belgium.

Chart comparing Surfshark's speeds over server location distance

I tested speeds on 25+ server locations and never experienced speeds below 30 Mbps

First, I tested my base speed without a VPN connection as a basis for comparison.

No VPN connection (Brussels, Belgium):

Ping (ms): 13
Download (Mbps): 45.20
Upload (Mbps): 3.81

I connected to Surfshark, which automatically chose the IKEv2 security protocol because it was the fastest option based on my network settings. I then began these speed tests on my Windows 10 laptop.

Local Servers

Using the “Fastest Server” option, I connected to a server in Brussels, Belgium and experienced almost no slowdown whatsoever.

Belgium (Brussels):

Ping (ms): 26
Download (Mbps): 43.07 (4.7% decrease)
Upload (Mbps): 3.58 (6% decrease)

Then I tried the “Nearest Country” option and was connected to a server in Luxembourg. Again, there was almost no slowdown. It’s normal for a VPN to slow you down by 10-20%, so a 4.7% decrease was unnoticeable. I actually had a slightly faster speed than my “fastest server”.

Luxembourg:

Ping (ms): 27
Download (Mbps): 44.68 (1.2% decrease)
Upload (Mbps): 3.55 (6.8% decrease)

I manually selected a few other countries not too far from my actual location (the Netherlands, the UK, Italy, and Spain) and got similar results on all of them — they were such minuscule drops in speed it’s almost not even worth mentioning the decrease.

Screenshot comparing speeds on local servers using Surfshark

Surfshark’s speeds were almost identical to my base internet speeds on servers near my actual location

Connecting to local servers with Surfshark won’t affect your speed in any noticeable way, allowing you to continue your online activity as you normally would.

Long Distance Servers

Surfshark’s international servers also performed really well. I expected some speed loss because my data had to travel farther to the server, but only experienced very minor slowdowns. I started by testing a few servers in the US on both the east and west coasts and found that the distance from my location in Belgium made almost no difference to my speeds.

United States (New York):

Ping (ms): 97
Download (Mbps): 41.41 (8.4% decrease)
Upload (Mbps): 3.47 (8.9% decrease)

United States (Los Angeles):

Ping (ms): 157
Download (Mbps): 40.93 (9.4% decrease)
Upload (Mbps): 3.64 (4.5% decrease)

Then, I went the distance and tested the Sydney, Melbourne, and Brisbane Australian servers. I had similar impressive results on all 3, only experiencing an average 28% decrease in download speed. For servers located 16,000 km away from me, this is an excellent result.

Australia (Melbourne):

Ping (ms): 246
Download (Mbps): 32.52 (28.1% decrease)
Upload (Mbps): 3.19 (16.3% decrease)

This was the slowest speed I encountered using Surfshark’s servers, and 32 Mbps is fast enough for even high bandwidth activities like fast-paced online gaming. A 28% loss will only be an issue if your base internet speed is slower than 5 Mbps. I almost became determined to find a super slow server using Surfshark and tested 6 others in Asia-Pacific, including Japan (Tokyo) and the Philippines. Again, I was really happy with my results.

Philippines:

Ping (ms): 220
Download (Mbps): 38.02 (15.9% decrease)
Upload (Mbps): 3.40 (10.8% decrease)
Screenshot comparing Surfshark's speeds on long distance servers

Although some of Surfshark’s faraway servers slowed my speed, it was not enough to affect my online activity

Are Surfshark’s Speeds Fast Enough for Gaming? Yes.

Surfshark is fast enough for gaming, but some servers gave me long loading times and error messages. When I used the “Fastest Server” feature, I could game with great speeds as if I were using my base internet connection. However, when I used servers really far away from my actual location (like Australia) I had some noticeable lag and loading issues. I tested Surfshark to see what kind of download speed, upload speed, and ping I’d get with different servers.

  • Download speed — how fast you receive data. Faster download speeds mean you’ll have more accurate timing when another player attacks you.
  • Upload speed — how fast you send data. Faster upload speeds mean you’ll have more accurate timing when you attack another player.
  • Ping — how long it takes for the data to reach its destination (i.e. latency). This determines how responsive your connection is, so the higher your ping, the more lag you’ll have.

It’s best to have download speeds of at least 15 Mbps, upload speeds of at least 1 Mbps, and the lowest ping possible for a smooth online gaming experience. I didn’t experience speeds slower than 32 Mbps using Surfshark, so its speeds are quick enough even for fast-paced online shooter games.

I began my tests by using the Fastest Server feature (it connected me to Belgium) and loaded RuneScape on Steam, an old favorite of mine. I chose a game server in the Netherlands. When the game first loaded it was really choppy and laggy, but after about 2 minutes it ran smoothly and I was able to play without any interruptions or slowdowns.

Happy with this result, I decided to test out the Melbourne server that gave me my slowest — although still good — speed (32.52 Mbps) to see if its speeds could hold up over such a long distance. On this server, even though I was able to log in to my Steam account (with a lot of loading time), I was unable to load the game. I tried 3 times and received an error message each time.

RuneScape received an unexpected response (26). Please try again later, or check the RuneScape website for server maintenance.

This error could have been an issue with the game or Steam, but I found it strange that everything worked fine on other servers. I contacted Surfshark’s customer support about it and they said this can happen sometimes with new VPN servers that haven’t been configured for gaming yet. They suggested trying another server — Sydney gave me the same error. However, I finally managed to load the game using the Brisbane server and played with only occasional, very minor lag using it.

Even though I had a few connection problems on Australian servers, I experienced perfectly smooth gameplay on other long-distance servers in both the US (New York, Los Angeles) and Canada (Toronto).

Screenshot showing Surfshark's speeds are fast enough for gaming

Toronto is 3,600 miles away from me, so I was impressed by Surfshark’s performance on a Canadian gaming server

Honestly, I will continue to use ExpressVPN for gaming because it has better speeds and I rarely face loading errors using it. Either way, you should always make sure you connect to the gaming server closest to your VPN’s server location because this will reduce ping time, maximizing performance.

Server Network — Decent-Sized Network With Reliable Connections

Surfshark has 3,200 servers in 65 locations. Compared to other top VPNs like CyberGhost (which has 7,190 in 91 locations) or Private Internet Access (which has 29,650 in 70 locations), this isn’t the hugest network I’ve seen. And even though ExpressVPN has 3,000 servers, it covers 90 countries worldwide. So if you want more global coverage and reliability, I would recommend one of those VPNs instead. That being said, all of the servers I tested gave me reliable, strong, fast connections.

Most of Surfshark’s servers are located in the US, spread out over 24 locations. This makes it a great option for unblocking US-based streaming content and bypassing regional blackouts for sporting events. Surfshark also has a big server presence in Europe (especially the UK, France, Germany, and Spain), Canada, India, and Australia.

Unlike many VPNs, there are physical servers available in countries with strict censorship laws like Russia, Vietnam, and Turkey. If you live in one of these locations (and since Surfshark doesn’t store any logs), you can surf the web freely and safely without having to sacrifice speed by connecting to an international server — the closer a server is to your actual location, the faster it tends to be.

The entire network is P2P-friendly, so it’s easy to torrent with Surfshark. You can also choose from 14 MultiHop servers. These add an extra layer of security by sending your traffic through 2 locations instead of 1 (but more on that in the security section below).

Virtual Locations

There are also virtual locations in Chile, Argentina, and Costa Rica, where it has become difficult to operate VPN services due to political instability. When you connect to one of these locations, you’re actually connected to a physical server located outside that region. This offers more connection options and helps you get faster speeds if you’re located in these countries. However, it can also give you a higher ping and can take a while to fully establish the connection — your data has to travel to the physical server, which is farther away than the virtual location. Each virtual location server is marked with a “v” in the app.

Screenshot showing how to identify virtual servers with Surfshark

Virtual locations help you access more global content, but can sometimes have unreliable connections

When I tested them, the Argentina virtual location failed to connect the first time I tried but managed to connect in about 15 seconds when I tried again. It only took me 5 seconds to establish a connection to Chile and Costa Rica.

Static IP Servers

These servers offer the same IP address every time you connect, instead of being assigned a random one. This is useful if you don’t want to complete a million CAPTCHA checks or constantly verify your identity when signing into secure sites like PayPal or banking apps.

I tested this feature by logging into my banking app 3 times after reconnecting to the same static server and was only asked to confirm my identity the first time. I get annoyed by how many CAPTCHA checks I have to do when using my VPN, so I really like that this feature stops that.

Surfshark offers static servers in 5 locations: Japan, Singapore, Germany, the US, and the UK.

Security — Top-Tier Security With Customizable Advanced Features

Surfshark is as secure as it gets. It offers the highest level of encryption, RAM-only servers, a strict no-logs policy, and more than just the standard advanced security options.

Military-Grade Encryption

It uses industry-standard AES 256-bit encryption, which is virtually impenetrable. This is the same level of encryption used by governments and militaries to protect their private data, so your ISP and third parties won’t be able to see any of your online activity.

RAM-Only Servers

Surfshark has a 100% diskless server network that automatically wipes all data when you switch off your VPN. This is to prevent breaches from malicious third parties. Many other top VPNs use hard drives, which are manually wiped clean, so there’s a small chance that data could be breached before the manual wipe occurs.

This also gives you an added layer of privacy because there truly isn’t any data that could possibly be shared (in case of court orders, for example). I really like that Surfshark offers this extra level of security.

Security Protocols

You can choose from 4 VPN protocols to encrypt and secure your online activity. While IKEv2 and OpenVPN are pretty standard, I was happy to see that Surfshark is WireGuard compatible on all major operating systems and offers Shadowsocks for people living in countries with a lot of internet censorship.

  • IKEv2: This protocol performed best during my tests. It tends to work best when connected to a nearby server, but I had great speeds even on long-distance ones. This is a good protocol to use if you’re on a mobile device because it has the ability to auto-connect (so you’re protected even when you switch from mobile data to WiFi). IKEv2 is available on Surfshark’s Windows, iOS, Android, macOS, and FireTV apps.
  • OpenVPN: OpenVPN is constantly being improved by security professionals worldwide, which makes it one of the most secure protocols available. There are two versions: UDP is faster and ideal for video calls, streaming, and gaming, while TCP is slower, but offers a more stable connection. OpenVPN worked well for me on both local and long-distance servers and is available on Windows, iOS, Android, macOS, Linux, and FireTV.
  • WireGuard: This protocol is known for improving security without hindering speeds. While I got slower speeds with Wireguard than IKEv2, it was much faster than OpenVPN. It also works well for all sorts of online activity like streaming, video calls, and general browsing (on both nearby and long-distance servers). It’s available on Windows, Android, iOS, and macOS.
  • Shadowsocks: This is an encrypted proxy created to help people living in high-censorship countries overcome internet restrictions (especially the “Great Firewall of China”). Countries like China, UAE, and Egypt block VPN connections, so if you use more common protocols like IKEv2 in these locations, they probably won’t work. If you aren’t located in a heavily censored region, one of the other protocols is a better option because they are more secure (Shadowsocks only encrypts browser traffic on Windows and Mac, for example.) It acts as more of a backup in case OpenVPN doesn’t work. Shadowsocks is available on Windows and Android and can be set up manually on Mac and iOS devices.

I compared my speeds using the different protocols during my speed tests to see whether there was a noticeable difference. I got significantly slower speeds using OpenVPN (UDP) and Wireguard than I did with IKEv2.

Chart comparing speeds using different security protocols with Surfshark.

I averaged the speeds of 10 servers using these 3 security options to give a rough idea of each’s performance

My speeds were an average 34% slower using OpenVPN than IKEv2, so it’s a good idea to choose the right protocol for your intended online activity. I really like that Surfshark automatically detects which protocol will be fastest for you when you open the app. However, if you want to change protocols mid-session, automatic selection will be disabled until you manually select it again.

Leak Test Results

I tested 10 servers including ones in the UK, US, and Belgium and no IP, WebRTC, or DNS leaks were detected on any of them. Any leaks are a threat to your security and privacy while using a VPN. A DNS leak is a security flaw that allows your ISP to see your internet activity. IP and WebRTC leaks reveal your real IP address (and your real location) to third parties, like hackers or online snoopers.

Surfshark offers private DNS on every server and IP leak protection when using IPv4 stack. IPv4 is the most common type of IP, while IPv6 is a new format. The version of IP used by your device depends on what your network supports. This means if your network supports IPv6, you could experience leaks while using Surfshark. Since IPv6 is so new, it’s not widely used, so this shouldn’t be an issue for most people. When I contacted support to ask about it, they informed me that they’re working on adding this in the future and offered some solutions to prevent your IP from being exposed.

Screenshot showing customer support explaining Surfshark doesn't support IPv6.

Support also recommended using OpenVPN if you’re worried about IPv6 leaks

You can easily disable IPv6 in your device’s network settings to prevent these leaks, but this could cause some apps to stop working properly. Support also said OpenVPN is the best protocol to use to cover your IPv6 connections (although not a guarantee).

Adding IPv6 support is crucial for a top VPN like Surfshark — you don’t even have to worry about this with VPNs like ExpressVPN or PrivateVPN because they cover both IPv4 and IPv6. I performed leak tests with IPv6 enabled (as well as disabled) and no IPv4, IPv6, WebRTC, or DNS leaks were detected on the 10 servers I tested. I recommend checking your connection just to make sure it’s actually secure.

Screenshot showing Surfshark doesn't leak IP, DNS, or IPv6 data.

Using IPleak.net, I discovered my actual location in Belgium was fully masked, with no IP or DNS leaks

Automatic Kill Switch

The kill switch feature is easy to access and keeps you protected even if Surfshark disconnects unexpectedly (although this didn’t happen during my tests). The kill switch will temporarily deactivate your internet connection and then reactivate it automatically when you’re connected again so none of your traffic is leaked while the VPN reconnects.

This is an important feature that has become standard with most VPNs, so I expect it from a top VPN like Surfshark. I also really like that Surfshark makes this feature easily accessible from its base connection screen unlike a lot of other VPNs. You can simply click the little arrow above where it says “connected” and activate the kill switch without navigating through the settings menu. It’s not activated automatically, so you need to switch it on manually the first time you connect to Surfshark.

Screenshot showing how to access Surfshark's kill switch from the home screen.

With other VPNs, you usually have to navigate through the settings menu to find the kill switch feature

The automatic kill switch is available on all of Surfshark’s apps, including FireTV.

MultiHop Servers

Surfshark gives you the option to double up your VPN connection by sending your traffic through 2 servers instead of 1 (also called Double VPN). This feature isn’t really useful for regular users. You might use it if you’re hyper-vigilant about privacy or need to send sensitive information in a country with internet surveillance, but otherwise you don’t need it. In addition, these servers slowed down my speeds significantly. Because your traffic has to go through 2 servers in 2 locations, it makes sense that your speeds drop.

Screenshot showing speed decrease using Surfshark's MultiHop servers.

I got an average speed of 44 Mbps on the UK – London server, so this was a drastic decrease

A single VPN connection is enough to keep your personal browsing data hidden from prying eyes, so it’s not worth the slow speeds. MultiHop isn’t a feature I’ll be using.

Camouflage Mode

This feature hides the fact that you’re using a VPN to encrypt your traffic (also known as obfuscation). It does this with technology that makes your connection seem like normal traffic. If you live in a country with strict censorship laws that bans the use of VPNs, this is a really useful feature. With Camouflage Mode active, your ISP or government will not only be blind to your internet activity, but they won’t be able to see that you’re using a VPN to maintain that privacy, either.

You can also use Camouflage Mode to help you get around firewalls on public WiFi. I tested this by going to the library, which blocks Netflix on its WiFi. When I turned on Camouflage Mode, it loaded fine and I was able to watch it no problem. Camouflage Mode is automatically enabled when connecting using the OpenVPN protocol, which is available on Windows, macOS, Android, iOS, and Linux devices.

NoBorders Mode

NoBorders mode was designed specifically to bypass internet restrictions in heavily censored regions (like China, Vietnam, or the UAE). This feature can detect VPN-blocking technologies used by your network. Based on this info, NoBorders will automatically give you a list of the best servers to use in your current restrictive location.

You can activate NoBorders mode on Windows, Mac, iOS, and Android by navigating to Settings > Advanced in the Surfshark app. I had some trouble finding it on my Android, and contacted customer support for help. I found out the feature is actually hidden — I had to tap and hold “Protocol” in the advanced settings menu to access the NoBorders function.

2FA

This feature (aka. Two-Factor Authentication) adds an extra layer of security to your Surfshark account itself. Rather than simply using a set password to log in, 2FA provides a temporary code to either your email or the app itself when you try to log in. This ensures that you will be the only person who can access your account in any given situation.

Setting up 2FA with Surfshark involves a bit of a process. To activate it, you must log in to Surfshark in your web browser, go to “Account Settings”, and click “Turn on 2FA”. You can then set it up either using an authentication application (like Google Authenticator) or with your email. I chose the authenticator method because it’s recommended on Surfshark’s website as the easiest. Using Surfshark’s online guide helped with the process — I had to download an app from the Google Play Store on my Android in order to scan a QR code to activate 2FA.

I am not super worried about my Surfshark account being hacked, so I disabled this function shortly after I activated it. It was annoying to have to go through so many steps just to log in.

CleanWeb

This is Surfshark’s built-in ad and malware blocker. I tested out CleanWeb on Forbes.com and YouTube and all the ads I saw with CleanWeb toggled off were gone once I turned it on. I was impressed that it even blocked ads on my ad-supported Hulu account.

Screenshot showing Surfshark's CleanWeb feature successfully blocking ads

Not only did CleanWeb block on-page ads, but I didn’t have to sit through video ads while watching YouTube, either

It also detects malicious websites and blocks them automatically, helping protect your device from malware or from falling victim to phishing scams. You can easily toggle CleanWeb on and off under Features in the Surfshark app on any of your devices.

GPS Spoofing on Android

Sometimes a VPN isn’t enough to keep your personal information private on your mobile device. Some sites and apps use your GPS to locate you instead of your IP address. Surfshark has solved that problem with this unique GPS spoofing feature — it makes it seem like you’re physically located in the same place as the VPN server you connect to. Both your IP and your GPS are masked, so no sneaky apps can track your whereabouts for marketing or other purposes.

Surfshark was the first VPN to introduce this functionality, and I was super impressed by how well it worked. I tested it by connecting to its New York server and switching on “Override GPS location” under advanced settings in the Android app. Then I loaded Google Maps and the blue dot showing my geographical location was directly beside New York City Hall (when I was actually sitting in my living room in Belgium writing this review).

Sadly, this feature doesn’t work with Pokemon Go. PoGo wouldn’t load any PokeStops or gyms and, while my in-game map showed NYC, it also said it couldn’t detect my location. Bummer.

Other Features

Whitelister

This feature allows you to select certain websites or apps to bypass the VPN connection (also known as split tunneling). It’s useful for using safe websites that don’t work with VPNs like banking sites. It’s also useful if you want to connect to network devices without the VPN causing issues.

This feature is only available for Windows and Android. When I tested Whitelister, it worked perfectly when I chose apps to bypass my VPN connection on both my Windows laptop and Android phone. However, I had some issues getting websites to successfully bypass Surfshark. Even after troubleshooting with customer support, I couldn’t access Netflix in my browser when it was added to my whitelist.

Device Invisibility

You can make your VPN-enabled device invisible to other devices on your local network for another layer of privacy. This is especially useful if you’re using public WiFi and don’t want other users to see you. While most operating systems already support this function, I like how easy it is to enable with Surfshark — it only took a couple of clicks. I just went to Settings > Advanced > and turned it on. This feature is only available on Windows and Android.

Privacy Beyond VPN

This is a bundle add-on package that comes with 2 features. It costs an extra $0.99/month on top of your current subscription rate.

  1. Surfshark Alert gives you immediate notifications if your personal information appears in leaked databases (like email or passwords). You can get free apps that let you check this as well. But I liked that you receive immediate notifications if there’s been a breach with Alert (you don’t get that with the free apps I’ve used).
  2. Surfshark Search is a private search engine that doesn’t have any ads or trackers, allowing you to search the web without Google following your every click. I really liked how clean and simple it was to use — very similar to DuckDuckGo or StartPage. While sites like DuckDuckGo are free, they still have ads. But since you can get a free (and trusted) adblocker to get rid of them, I don’t think it’s worth paying extra for Surfshark Search.

Trust DNS

TrustDNS is a free app that lets you change your DNS address in one click. You can choose from 100+ public DNS servers. It’s useful if you want to access websites that are blocked at the DNS level (this can happen in restricted regions like China) or hide your activity from your ISP. However, it doesn’t offer the same level of protection as a VPN — your traffic isn’t encrypted and your IP address is still visible to anyone online.

I also couldn’t unblock any streaming sites when I tested it out. If you want to connect to public DNS servers, this app makes it easy (but it’s not hard to do manually in your network settings, either). However, public domains sometimes log your data or make you vulnerable to malware. So, I definitely prefer to use one of Surfshark’s VPN servers because it’s safer — you’ll automatically connect to one of its private DNS servers instead and have full protection.

Trust DNS is only available on iOS and Android devices, and you have to download it separately.

Privacy — Safe, Trustworthy, and Transparent

Strict No-Logs Policy

Surfshark doesn’t collect your IP address, browsing history, session information, or any other identifiable data. I was impressed by how accessible its privacy policy is. For each article, a highlighted summary of the most important information (in layman’s terms) is provided — I respect this commitment to transparency and making sure users understand everything they’re committing to.

Screenshot showing how easy it is to understand Surfshark's privacy policy

I even found the main text of Surfhsark’s privacy policy easy to follow, with no confusing language

Surfshark does collect and store your email address and password (which is encrypted) as well as basic billing information in order to create your account. If you’re not comfortable providing this information, you can easily create a separate email address just for Surfshark and use an anonymous payment method like cryptocurrency to subscribe without identifying yourself.

Surfshark also collects diagnostic reports and anonymous analytics information in the app, which you can opt out of easily in the settings menu. Your location data is collected when using the “Auto-Connect” feature, but this data is never shared with any third parties. Other data is also collected when using Surfshark’s website, including “traffic data” (or anonymous analytics) information, cookies, and web beacons. However, I was impressed that the policy also explains how to disable these functions if you don’t want this information stored.

Location — Outside the 5/9/14 Eyes Alliance

Surfshark is owned by Surfshark Ltd and has been headquartered in the British Virgin Islands since its inception in 2018. This is an ideal base location for a VPN because there are no data retention laws or practices in place there. The British Virgin Islands are also located outside the 5/9/14 Eyes Alliance — a group of countries (including Canada, the US, France, and Australia) who’ve agreed to share surveillance intelligence between one another. Its position outside this alliance means no government can force Surfshark to collect or share any user data.

Warrant Canary

Warrant Canary is a web page you can visit to find out whether Surfshark has received any court orders to share user data. The more transparent a company is, the more I feel like I can trust it, so I really like that it makes this information so easy to access. Surfshark updates this page daily, so you’re always up-to-date about whether they’ve received any warrants or gag orders for your data. But considering it has a strict no-logs policy, it wouldn’t have any data to hand over anyway.

Screenshot showing Surfshark's Warrant Canary report

Even if Surfshark was ordered to hand over data, it would have nothing to give thanks to its no-logs policy

Independent Audits

Security audits of Surfshark’s Chrome and Firefox extensions had really good results. I read cybersecurity company Cure53’s entire 2018 audit report and there were no major issues found with the extensions, neither in the privacy or security realms in which they were analyzed.

No audits have been performed on logging policies or the application itself. This was disappointing to me because in many other ways Surfshark shows a strong commitment to transparency. Performing independent audits on (at the very least) logging policies is common among top VPNs and puts me at ease knowing that my personal data is actually safe. While I have no reason to suspect that Surfshark is up to anything shady with its users’ data, I would encourage independent audits of its application and policies to strengthen its (already strong) commitment to transparency. If you’d rather use a VPN with an audited and verified no logs policy, there are definitely better options out there.

Torrenting — Easy, Fast, and Safe

Surfshark performed really well when I tested its P2P sharing abilities, although it was a bit unclear which servers are specifically optimized for it. All the servers work with torrenting. However, if you’re not actually connected to a P2P-optimized server, you’re automatically connected to the nearest one the moment you open a torrent client like uTorrent, BitTorrent, or Transmission (or a P2P-based streaming platform like VLC, Popcorn Time, or Kodi).

A lot of VPNs I’ve used require you to manually choose a torrent-friendly server before you start file-sharing, so I really liked how effortless it was to torrent using Surfshark. I tested to see if this automatic switch-over works. Once I figured out that you can search “p2p” under “Locations” to see all the optimized servers, it was easy to find one to perform this test.

I chose the Czech Republic server (which isn’t P2P-optimized) and connected. Using IPleak.net I saw that my IP and DNS locations were set to Prague. After opening qBittorrent, I ran IPleak again and saw that my IP was still set to Prague, but my DNS had changed to the Netherlands, which is one of the P2P-optimized server locations.

Screenshot showing that Surfshark automatically connects to a p2p-optimized server when opening a torrent client.

I didn’t have to do anything to connect to a P2P-friendly server, just connect to Surfshark and open qBittorrent

While I could torrent successfully using this connection, I was a bit confused as to why I had a different IP and DNS location, so I contacted customer support. The representative explained that I had fallen into a “black hole” server, which sounded pretty bad to me. But they informed me that it was perfectly safe, although recommended I manually select a P2P-optimized server instead.

Screenshot showing Surfshark customer support explaining p2p-friendly servers

Support called the automatic P2P connection a “black hole”, and told me to choose a specific P2P server instead

Even though automatically connecting to a torrent-friendly server is super convenient, customer support was right — I did have slower download speeds with the automatic connection. When I manually selected the P2P-optimized Belgian server (closest to my location), my speeds were faster. I downloaded the same 3GB file using both servers — my average speed on the Czech one was 2.5 Mbps and it took 19 minutes to complete. On the Belgian server, I had an average of 3.1 Mbps, and the file completed in 11 minutes.

While these speeds are fast enough, I’ve experienced faster while torrenting with other VPNs. I usually use IPVanish for torrenting because it offers a SOCKS5 proxy that significantly boosts my download speeds and all of its servers are fast for P2P sharing.

To maximize your P2P speeds with Surfshark, I would recommend manually choosing an optimized server. Once you’ve connected to your preferred server, you can download torrents safely and anonymously. Surfshark’s strict no logs policy and military-grade encryption, combined with its automatic kill switch feature, will guarantee your activity remains hidden.

Does Surfshark Work in China? Yes.

Yes, it works in China because Surfshark has security features specifically designed to bypass internet restrictions there. It can be difficult to test VPNs in China since the country is constantly working on and implementing new VPN-blocking technologies. While some users have difficulty getting Surfshark up and running there, customer support informed me that you can use a manual connection method which will work at all times if you run into problems.

Support is available through live chat or email to help you get Surfshark to work in a heavily censored region. Customer service also confirmed that Surfshark works in other countries with strict censorship laws including Turkey, Saudi Arabia, Russia, and the UAE.

Screenshot showing customer services saying Surfshark works in China.

Even if you can’t get it running right away, support will help you set it up manually

Once connected to Surfshark, use NoBorders Mode and Camouflage Mode, which were made to get past China’s “Great Firewall”. NoBorders detects VPN-blocking technologies used in China and other countries with strict internet censorship. Then it gives you a list of servers that work best based on those restrictions. Camouflage Mode hides that you’re using a VPN and makes your online activity seem like normal traffic — so the government can’t block you from using a VPN to bypass restrictions either. On top of that, Windows and Android users can use the Shadowsocks encrypted proxy, which was designed to help bypass these heavy restrictions as well.

Ease of Use

10.0

Surfshark is really easy to use — its app has a clean, intuitive layout and is suitable even for VPN beginners. It functions almost completely the same way on Windows, Mac, iOS, and Android, which makes it simple to use across platforms. That means you don’t have to waste time getting used to 4 completely different apps if you own multiple devices. The app is available in 15 languages, including Spanish, German, Japanese, Korean, and Chinese.

I especially liked that the advanced settings and features menus include a little description under every option explaining what each feature/setting does. It’s also super handy to be able to save your favorite servers for easy access later.

There are a few minor things I would like to see improved with Surfshark. The auto-connect feature could be better — I experienced slightly faster speeds manually selecting a server a lot of the time. It would also be helpful to include a P2P server list, like with MultiHop and Static Servers, to make choosing a specific torrenting-optimized one more straightforward.

I found it difficult to find individual server information (like server load and ping time) on Windows and Android. This is something I like to see because it helps me choose the fastest server possible. After contacting customer support about this issue, they informed me that you must be disconnected from the VPN to see this information.

Screenshot showing how to view server load and ping time of servers on Surfshark

This info remains visible once you reconnect the VPN, but you have to enable it every time you restart the app

Simultaneous Device Connections — Unlimited

You can connect as many devices as you want under a single Surfshark subscription. This is one of Surfshark’s greatest selling features, because this gives you amazing value for your money. Most VPNs restrict your simultaneous device connections to between 5-10, which can be limiting for families with multiple devices.

I tested whether having a lot of devices connected at the same time would diminish performance in any way. With my laptop, iPad, Android phone, and desktop computer all connected I didn’t see any noticeable drop in performance — I could still stream Netflix in HD without lag. It really doesn’t get any better than that.

Device Compatibility — All Major Operating Systems (and More)

Native Apps for Windows, Mac, Android, iOS, Linux, and Fire Devices

I found that navigating the app is pretty much the same on all 4 major operating systems. There are some very slight differences in layout, but the app is essentially the same no matter which OS you use. It’s also worth mentioning that there are a few more features on Windows and Android than Mac and iOS, like Whitelister and Device Invisibility.

The most noticeable differences are that you can see your ping and load time next to each server on Apple devices, whereas on Windows and Android you have to manually load this info. The Windows app also allows you to resize the window and use it in mini-mode — you can’t do this on Mac.

Screenshot comparing Surfshark's layout and design on Windows, Mac, Android, and iOS.

I found Surfshark easy to use across platforms, with a similar and intuitive layout and design

Windows and Android also offer Shadowsocks to help bypass internet restrictions in countries with heavy censorship.

Android has a couple of features exclusive to the platform. It offers GPS Spoofing, which matches your GPS location to your VPN’s IP location. It also has an additional “native” Kill Switch, which customer service informed me is embedded deeper into Android’s software for added reliability.

Surfshark’s apps are compatible with Windows 7 or newer, mac OS 10.12 or newer, iOS 10.3.3 or newer, and Android 5.0 or newer.

A basic Surfshark app is also available on Linux’s Ubuntu and Devian systems. It works with OpenVPN (you can choose between UDP or TCP), so its servers are already automatically obfuscated. The app is very basic on Linux and doesn’t offer any of the advanced settings, features, or specialized servers available on other major operating systems. You can set up some features manually, though (like an automatic kill switch).

The app for FireTV and FireStick is most similar to the Android version, offering almost all the same advanced features as on major operating systems. It’s available for 2nd generation Fire devices or newer.

Router Compatible, but No Native App

You can set Surfshark up on your router, but it’s recommended to use its apps for best performance. Surfshark must be installed manually on a router with firmware that has OpenVPN or L2TP client pre-installed. You can also install new firmware (and there are guides on its website that show you how), but this can be a very complicated process and can damage your router, so proceed with caution!

You won’t be able to use most of the advanced features available on the apps, either. Some routers support split tunneling, and some support the ability to select different security protocols, but others don’t. None of the other features are available on routers. You also have to manually configure each VPN server you want access to into your router, so switching server locations isn’t a one-click process like with the app. You’re better off using ExpressVPN if you want a VPN on your router — it offers pre-configured routers and has a native app to control the VPN easily.

There are a lot of router-specific guides on Surfshark’s website to help you get set up, including a list of compatible routers. I read over the tutorials and they’re all detailed, yet easy to follow. You also have access to 24/7 live chat support if you run into any issues.

Browser Extensions for Chrome and Firefox

Surfshark’s browser extensions are a simplified version of the app. They don’t include any advanced features (except the CleanWeb ad and malware blocker) and only encrypt your traffic within the browser itself. That means any apps you use outside your browser aren’t protected by the VPN. It’s always a better idea to use the full Surfshark app to keep your whole device protected. The extensions are available in 9 languages including English, French, German, Polish, and Japanese.

I found they ran smoothly and had a sleek design, almost like the full app. But they were only really useful for quickly changing IP locations in my browser to unblock streaming sites and nothing else.

Also Works With PlayStation, Xbox, Apple TV, and Smart TVs

You can use Surfshark’s Smart DNS to unblock geo-restricted streaming content on devices that aren’t compatible with a VPN, like gaming consoles and smart TVs. It’s a super simple setup and allows you to unblock US-based services and libraries. I tested Smart DNS on my PS4 and was able to watch Disney+, Amazon Prime Video, and Hulu!

Pro Tip: Most VPNs (Surfshark included) only offer SmartDNS codes for US streaming content. CyberGhost is one of the only VPNs I’ve used that has streaming-optimized DNS codes for 5 different countries (including the US, UK, and Germany). That means you can unblock way more streaming content on devices that usually don’t work with VPNs.

Keep in mind, Smart DNS is not the same as installing a VPN — it doesn’t encrypt your online traffic, change your IP address, or offer any of the security features the full VPN does.

You can also connect these devices to Surfshark by setting it up on your router or by sharing your VPN-enabled internet connection from your PC to the device. These setups are a bit more complicated than SmartDNS, but then your device will be completely protected. Surfshark has step-by-step guides on its website that show you how to set up each of these methods.

Setup & Installation — Easy Setups, Even on Some Incompatible Devices

Getting Surfshark up and running is very straightforward. I set Surfshark up on my Windows and Mac laptops, Android smartphone, and iPad and it was as simple as downloading and installing the software (like you would any other app) from Surfshark’s website and signing in.

I signed up for my account on my Windows computer. It was only 3 steps: choosing the plan I wanted, entering my email address, and setting up a payment method. Once I had my login credentials, I just went to Surfshark’s website and downloaded the app on each of my devices.

Screenshot showing where to download Surfshark for Windows

It only took about 20 seconds to complete the setup process

Once I arrived at the app download page, it only took 2 clicks to get Surfshark up and running on my Windows 10 laptop. I simply clicked “Download Now,” clicked on the .exe setup file once it finished downloading and the entire setup and installation was done automatically. In about 20 seconds the Surfshark app popped up, asking me to sign in.

Steps showing how to install Surfshark on Windows.

During setup I could see Surfshark’s installation progress, but I didn’t have to do anything except wait

It was easy on my Android phone as well. I had to tap a few more buttons than in Windows, but the installation process was also automatic and only took about 15 seconds.

Screenshots showing the steps to download Surfshark on Android

It only took 2 minutes to download, install, and connect to Surfshark on my Android

Before the .APK file downloaded, I did receive a pop-up that asked me if I was sure I wanted to download the file. I clicked “OK” and then opened the Surfshark.apk file when it finished downloading. Then you just have to click “Install”, “Open”, and the app will load and ask for your login details. It was essentially the same process on my Mac and iPad as well — quick and easy.

I also installed both browser extensions, which was as simple as searching “Surfshark” in the Chrome Web Store or the Firefox Browser Add-On Store and clicking “Add”.

Setting up Smart DNS on my PS4 only took me 2 minutes. I logged in to Surfshark in my web browser and selected “Smart DNS” in the left column. My IP address was automatically registered and I was given DNS codes that I simply copied into my PS4’s network settings. You can also set Smart DNS up on Xbox, Apple TV, LG TVs, Samsung TVs, and other smart TVs.

Screenshot showing Surfshark's easy Smart DNS setup

After entering the DNS info, I restarted my console and immediately had full access to American streaming libraries

If you want to use Surfshark with devices like Roku or Chromecast, you have 2 (not so simple) options. You can set it up on your router, or create a VPN hotspot by sharing your computer’s VPN-enabled internet connection with the device. Thankfully, Surfshark has detailed step-by-step guides that show you how to do this.

Compare Surfshark with the top alternative VPNs

9.9
9.5
9.3
9.3

Pricing

9.4
24 Months Plan
$2.49 /month
6 Months Plan
$6.49 /month
1 Month Plan
$12.95 /month

You get a bigger discount if you choose a longer subscription period. A 1-month plan will cost you $12.95/month, a 6-month plan is $6.49/month and a 24-month plan is $2.49/month. I think Surfshark’s prices are totally worth it considering all the advanced features it comes with. On top of that, you can use it on an unlimited number of devices, giving you even more value for your money.

All of the plans offer the exact same features and come with a 30-day money-back guarantee. Having 30 days to test out a VPN is pretty good, but CyberGhost offers a 45-day money-back guarantee, so you can test its service for even longer.

I tested Surfshark’s guarantee and it was easy to get my money back. Using the live 24/7 chat, I requested a refund (giving a reason why Surfshark wasn’t the right VPN for me). My refund was approved right away and I had my money back 4 days later.

Surfshark has the following payment methods:

  • Major credit cards (Visa, Mastercard, Amex, Discover)
  • PayPal
  • Debit cards (Europe only)
  • Google Pay
  • Amazon Pay
  • Cryptocurrencies
  • Other popular regional payment methods like AliPay and Sofort.

If you want to sign up for Surfshark anonymously, your best bet is to create another email account and pay with cryptocurrency.

Reliability & Support

9.6

Surfshark’s online Help Centre is loaded with helpful information, including feature explanations, tutorials, setup and installation guides, and a decent FAQ section. I was super impressed by the number of guides available and used multiple tutorials during this review with success. They were all detailed enough without being overly complicated.

If you can’t find the answers you need on its website (which I could for the most part), Surfshark offers 24/7 live chat support as well as a ticketing system and email support options. I tested the ticketing and live chat platforms and received quick, friendly, and informative help each time. I got responses over live chat in a few seconds and it only took between 3-5 hours to get a response through the ticketing system in my email.

Screenshot showing Surfshark's customer support platforms

I recommend using live chat. It’s super convenient and only takes a few seconds to get a response

When I ran into issues using Whitelister on my Windows computer, the representative I reached out to over live chat provided me with detailed steps to take and multiple solutions. They remained available in the chat until we’d found a suitable solution for the problem.

The Bottom Line

Final Verdict — A User-Friendly and All-Round Safe, Reliable VPN

I 100% recommend Surfshark. Of all its competitors, it has the best value and provides you with everything a top VPN should: multiple advanced security features, reliable network and speeds, consistent unblocking abilities, and a strong commitment to user privacy and security.

I was really impressed with Surfshark’s customer support and its level of transparency while reading over its privacy policy, as well. In addition, one of its greatest selling points is that you can connect an unlimited number of devices simultaneously, making its comparably lower price point even more worth it.

However, if you want a VPN with an incredibly reliable network with more global coverage, ExpressVPN is a better choice. I would also recommend CyberGhost if you’re looking for an easy-to-use VPN designed for streaming and torrenting. If you’re not convinced if Surfshark’s for you, you can check out our list of best VPNs in 2021 here.

lDxykL2d2Ok
imgur-lDxykL2d2Ok
  • Fast speeds for HD streaming and gaming
  • Reliably unblocks Netflix, Disney+, Hulu, and other popular streaming platforms
  • 3,200 servers in 65 locations
  • Incredibly safe to use with a strict no-logs policy and military-grade encryption
  • Unlimited simultaneous device connections
  • P2P-friendly
  • Works in China
  • Excellent customer service, with 24/7 live chat support
  • Offers a 30-day money-back guarantee

FAQs on Surfshark

Is Surfshark a safe VPN?

Yes, Surfshark is incredibly safe to use. Surfshark offers AES-256 bit encryption, which is uncrackable. This is the level of encryption used by militaries and governments around the world to protect sensitive data. Surfshark also has a strict no-logs policy — they don’t store any identifiable user data. Since they also use RAM-only servers, any data that could be stored is wiped clean every time you disconnect the VPN anyway.

Does Surfshark unblock Netflix, Amazon Prime Video, and BBC iPlayer?

Yes! I got Surfshark to unblock Netflix, Amazon Prime Video, and BBC iPlayer. I could access 20+ Netflix libraries, 2 Amazon Prime Video libraries, and unblocked BBC iPlayer on every UK server. I also successfully unblocked more than 15 other popular streaming platforms.

Will Surfshark work in China?

Yes. Surfshark has features specifically designed to bypass internet restrictions in China (and other restrictive countries like Russia, Saudi Arabia, Turkey, and the UAE). However, sometimes the app has issues connecting. Surfshark customer support informed me that there is a manual connection method that will get Surfshark up and running in China in every case.

How many devices can I install Surfshark on?

As many as you want. One of the best parts about Surfshark is that it offers unlimited simultaneous device connections under a single subscription. It’s perfect for families or sharing the VPN with friends.

Are there any Surfshark apps for FireTV Stick, Apple TV, or smart TV?

Yes, Surfshark has native apps for FireTV and FireStick. You can download them from the Amazon App Store. Surfshark doesn’t offer native apps for Apple TV or other smart TVs, but you can use its Smart DNS feature to easily unblock US-based streaming content on these devices. It only took me 2 minutes to set this up.

Money Back Guarantee (Days) : 30
Mobile app :
Number of devices per license : Unlimited
VPN Plans: www.surfshark.com

Surfshark User Reviews

7.8
Based on 745 reviews in 27 languages
New Zealand User
Doesn't work for Sky Sports etc. - 6
New Zealand User -
Sep 21, 2021

Surfshark struggles badly with some of the better streaming services like Sky Sports which I pay to watch. I had to use Expressvpn instead. Saying that ExpressVPN is very expensive compared with Surfshark so you get what you pay for. Surfshark support is quick but they cannot resolve a lot of the blocked sites.

A D
Don't buy this for NETFLIX doesn't work - 2
A D -
Sep 10, 2021

Surfshark seems like a good deal at first and their 2-year plan seems awesome value. I purchased this purely for Netflix USA content unlock which was what they advertise everywhere through affiliates and ads. However now that Netflix has more restrictions and when surfshark is unable to unblock those content as promised, they will tell you it's not their fault and that they will not refund you, NOT EVEN THE UNUSED SUBSCRIPTION! even after 20 messages. So beware. NEVER BUY any long subscription from them thinking that you can use it for Netflix. Not sure about other applications!

David
A Mixed Bag... - 6
David -
Jul 18, 2021

There's much good to say about Surfshark. Pricing, especially when they're running a 'special', is great. Speeds for most of their servers are quite good. The app works well (I mostly use it on a desktop), but has some bugs that never seem to be addressed. One is that the connection protocol has a habit of changing on its own out of nowhere, even though I have it set to use a particular protocol. Since it changes to a protocol where I can't connect this is a bit of a pain. Reported this, (it's going on for months) but never gets fixed. Also with the app, sometimes it will put up a notice within the app that you have a connection problem but it's not clear if you are or are not still protected when this occurs. The "notice" may or may not be seen by you unless you have the app on top of everything else you're running at the time. It's a bit disturbing when you see this, have no clue how long the 'notice' was up, and are wondering if you've been surfing protected or not! Another issue is even more concerning; I hit a lot of websites that won't allow you to proceed while connected to this VPN! The site immediately recognizes you're masking your IP and won't let you use the site. I guess you're still anonymous, which is good, but what good is it when they know you're on a VPN and won't allow you access? Not sure if this is something with Surfshark's system, or just that there are so many people on this VPN that the sites see IP addresses coming up too frequently and know you're masking. Have been on 3 other VPN's over the last 7 years, have not seen this difficulty before, not really happy about it since if a site blocks you while being on a VPN it doesn't do you much good. So, it's kind of a mixed bag. I signed up on a 2-year deal, not sure I'll continue with them when it expires. There's a lot of promise with Surfshark, but they need to fix and flesh out parts of their service.

Was this review helpful? 0 0
Sorry about that!
(Minimum 10 characters.)
Top 3 Alternatives
Check the top 3 alternative VPNs
EXCLUSIVE OFFER
Get 3 months free
of our #1 rated VPN
LIMITED-TIME OFFER

00

Days

00

Hours

00

Minutes

00

Seconds
Get ExpressVPN
30-Day Money-Back Guarantee
Image Alt Text - Vendor Logo expressvpn - devices