How to Delete Your Snapchat Account Permanently – 2019 Update

Snapchat’s selfie filters, quirky lenses, and funky stickers keep us entertained. All the better that these potentially embarrassing ‘Snaps’ disappear in a few seconds.

The automatic deletion policy is what made Snapchat famous (and popular). If you’re still scared of embarrassing snaps, deactivating or deleting Snapchat may be on your agenda to protect your privacy.

Why Should I Delete Snapchat?

Snapchat is a social media platform that prides itself on privacy. However, many users began to question the platform when they remained silent over the Cambridge Analytica scandal that saw data harvested from millions of Facebook users.

It seemed strange that an app promising superior privacy protocols and data protection wouldn’t capitalize or at least comment on the failure of their competitor. Particularly odd, as Facebook has been copying their most popular features for years.

In April 2019, Snapchat announced a host of new features, the most interesting of which is called App Stories. This allows you to share your content directly from your Snapchat camera to a ‘Story’ of another app.

This poses privacy questions, as Snapchat data is supposed to be temporary. But how can this be the case if it’s accessible to the likes of Facebook and Tinder? What will prevent another Cambridge Analytica fiasco if data is up for grabs after it has left the safety of Snapchat?

This guide will help you restore some of your digital privacy by showing you how to delete your Snapchat account permanently.

Deactivating vs Deleting: What You Need to Know

After you have gone through the process to delete your account, you will have 30 days where your account is deactivated. You should hold onto your username and password during this time in case you change your mind and want to reactivate your account.

Over the 30 days of deactivation, those on your friends list will not be able to interact with you or contact you on Snapchat.

To reactivate your Snapchat account, simply log in with your username and password. You can’t log in to a deactivated account with your email address, or change your password. It should be noted that it may take 24 hours before you can reactivate your deactivated account.

30 days after deactivation, your Snapchat account will be deleted for good, along with your account, settings, Snaps, Story, Chats, and location and device data. Snapchat may retain some personal data in their main user database, for security, legal, or business reasons.

Downloading Your Snapchat Data

Before you delete permanently, you may want to download a copy of your Snapchat data. To do this you will need a verified email address. Follow these simple steps to download your data:

  1. Log in to your personal account at accounts.snapchat.com and click ‘My Data’.
  2. Click the link that says ‘Submit Request’ at the bottom of the page.
  3. An email will be sent to your verified email address with a link when your data is ready to be downloaded.
  4. Click the link to download your data.
  5. Your data will arrive in the form of a ZIP file entitled ‘My Data’.

Step-By-Step Guide: How to Delete Your Snapchat Account

If, after downloading your Snapchat data, you have decided that you want to permanently delete your account, follow these easy steps:

1. Head to Snapchat’s ‘accounts portal’.

Permanently Deleting Snapchat - Log in

2. Log in to your account. This will take you to the ‘Delete Account’ page.

Permanently Deleting Snapchat - Delete Account

3. Enter your username and passwords into the required fields and click ‘Continue’.

4. Your account is now deactivated and you can log out. 30 days after deactivation, your account will be deleted permanently.

Snapchat Account Deactivated

5. Delete the app from your phone.

Other Ways to Keep Your Data Private

The Cambridge Analytica debacle opened the eyes of many users to the privacy dangers of social media. But there are many more risks to your online privacy.

For example, internet juggernauts like Google hold onto a lot of information on their users, from basic personal information to where you work and your sexuality. Therefore, it may be worth looking at alternatives to Google services to prevent so much of your personal data from being collected.

Like many users, you might be keen to protect the privacy of your online data. Find plenty of tips and advice on how you can do this with our ultimate guide to maintaining privacy online.

Conclusion & Further Reading

We live in a world where every website you visit, every app you use, and every device you buy, collects your personal data. The digital age has made online data a valuable commodity, meaning that securing your privacy online is more important than ever. With the privacy protocols of several social media platforms coming into question in recent years, you might be wondering if they’re worth the risk.

If the Cambridge Analytica scandal turned you off from Facebook, take a look at our guide to permanently deleting your Facebook account.

If you’re looking for a VPN, don’t miss our exclusive deals and codes.

Was this helpful? Share it!