Disclosure:
Professional Reviews

vpnMentor contains reviews that are written by our community reviewers, and are based on the reviewers' independent and professional examination of the products/services.

• Ownership

vpnMentor is owned by Kape Technologies PLC, which owns the following products: CyberGhost, ZenMate, Private Internet Access, and Intego, which may be reviewed on this website.

• Affiliate Commissions

While vpnMentor may receive commissions when a purchase is made using our links, this has no influence on the reviews content or on the reviewed products/services. We provide direct links to purchase products that are part of affiliate programs.

• Reviews Guidelines

The reviews published on vpnMentor are written by experts that examine the products according to our strict reviewing standards. Such standards ensure that each review is based on the independent, professional and honest examination of the reviewer, and takes into account the technical capabilities and qualities of the product together with its commercial value for users, which may also affect the product's ranking on the website.

How to Permanently Delete Your Gmail Account

While many would argue that Gmail is the best email platform there is, there are those who disagree. Whether it’s the promotional emails, the different labels and tags, or you’re worried about your security, Gmail might not be the best email option for you.

Luckily, there’s a simple way to delete your account, but since you’re most likely using Google services on other platforms (like Youtube or Google search), it’s best to double check that the rest of your information won’t be deleted too.

(If you want to delete all of your Google accounts, rest assured, you can do that, too. However, this article is geared towards those that simply want to delete their Gmail account.)

BE AWARE: Every click, every share, and every download can be and is tracked, stored, and sold by app creators, internet service providers, and telecom companies. Only a VPN like NordVPN can protect you and prevent these third parties from collecting and selling your sensitive data.

Before permanently deleting your Gmail account, there are a few things to consider and checkoff:

  1. If your Gmail account is associated with any social media accounts, you won’t be able to recover or reset your social media account information. This includes Facebook, Youtube, iTunes, Instagram, etc. Before you delete your account, create an alternative email account to switch everything to.
  2. If you receive any email subscriptions that you want to continue reading, you will have to change your account information there, too.
  3. Any contacts or information stored on with Gmail will be lost. It’s a good idea to download your data and file it somewhere else.
  4. Deleting your Gmail account will not free up your username. So, if you ever want a new Gmail account, you will need a complete new username.
  5. Deleting your Gmail account does not delete your Google account, so you will still be able to access Drive and other Google features, if you still want to.

Now that you’re all ready, here’s how to delete your Gmail account. (You can complete the same steps on your phone.)

How to Delete Your Gmail Account

Step 1 – Sign into your account

Sign into your Google Account by using myaccount.google.com and click Sign in. Enter your Gmail details and click Sign in.

Sign in to Google

Sign in to your Google account.

Step 2 – Go to your account setting

On the Accounts page, find Data & personalization. This is usually towards the left-hand side of the page, along with other settings.

Data & Personalization

On the account page, choose Data & Personalization.

Step 3 – Choose Delete Products

Next you’ll need to select Delete a service or your account.

Delete

Delete a service or your account.

Google gives you two options, to delete a Google service or your entire Google account. If you only want to get rid of Gmail click on Delete a service, if you want to delete your account click on Delete your account.

Deletion Options

Choose Delete a Google service or Delete your Google Account.

You will be prompted to re-enter your password and sign in.

Confirm account deletion

Google will ask you to sign in one more time.

Step 4 – Delete Your Gmail Account

Before you proceed, you will receive a final warning on what deleting your account entails

Final Confirmation

The final confirmation steps for deleting your account.

If you are ready to continue, click on Delete Account.

Step 5 – Open up your new account

There will be a message instructing you to open an email that was sent to your new primary email address. At the bottom of the memo, click the “OK, Got it” button.

Step 6 – Confirm your status

You will receive a confirmation email. Check the details and click on the confirmation link. A page will open asking if you want to confirm that you want to delete your Gmail account.

Enter your password and click “Confirm.” Finally, you will receive a confirmation message that your account has been deleted.

It takes some time and a bunch of pages to click through, but deleting your Gmail account isn’t difficult at all.

About the Author

Ariel Hochstadt, Formerly Gmail Marketing Manager globally for Google, and today web entrepreneur. Ariel is a successful international speaker and author of 3 published books on computers and internet. He is the co-founder of vpnMentor and an advocate of online privacy.

Did you like this article? Rate it!
I hated it! I don't really like it It was ok Pretty good! Loved it!
Voted by Users
Thank you for your feedback
Comment Comment must be from 5 to 2500 characters long.
EXCLUSIVE OFFER
Get 3 months free
of our #1 rated VPN
LIMITED-TIME OFFER

00

Days

00

Hours

00

Minutes

00

Seconds
Get ExpressVPN
30-Day Money-Back Guarantee
Image Alt Text - Vendor Logo expressvpn - devices