How to Delete Your Tinder Account Permanently – 2019 Update

If you are one of the millions of Tinder users looking to make a match, read on to find out more about Tinder’s security and privacy problems. If these issues are concerning to you, this article will also show you how to permanently delete your Tinder account.

The first thing to consider is that Tinder collects a lot more of your information than you might expect (more about this in the Downloading Your Tinder Data section). This information is used to present you with targeted ads and can also be used in any other way Tinder may choose, including selling it on to third parties.

Furthermore, it wasn’t until 2018 that Tinder started encrypting their pictures. It was found that all photos from users’ phones were transmitted over HTTP (ie without encryption), which meant that anyone using the same network could get access to them.

Additionally, while swipes, matches, and messages were all encrypted, hackers could still determine the activity of a user. This was because the actions of swiping right, swiping left, and finding a match, all had different amounts of data, so a hacker would be able to tell which action was being made by a user.

Tinder responded soon after these issues emerged and promised that they had been resolved. But, it does beg the question as to whether there will be more security issues in the future.

Deactivating vs Deleting: What You Need to Know

Tinder has options to both temporarily deactivate or permanently delete your account. When you temporarily pause your account, the Discovery function is disabled, which means that your profile card will be hidden from anyone swiping through Tinder. However, while your account is paused, you will still be able to send messages to your existing matches.

Deleting your account will also delete all of your matches and messages, and any other information associated with your account. If you change your mind at a later date, you will need to create a new account.

Canceling Tinder Gold or Tinder Plus Subscription

Deleting your account does not automatically cancel your Tinder Plus or Gold subscription. To cancel your subscription you need to go to the iOS App Store or the Google Play Store. If you use iOS, you will need to submit a request for a refund with Apple Support. Android users will need to email the Tinder help team at help@gotinder.com.

Step-By-Step Guide: How to Delete Your Tinder Account

You can delete your Tinder account through the mobile app or via your web browser, by following these simple instructions:

  1. Log into your Tinder account on the app or your web browser.
  2. Click on the profile icon and select ‘Settings’ (the gear icon).
    Permanently Deleting Tinder - Settings
  3. Scroll down to the bottom of the page and select ‘Delete Account’.
    Permanently Deleting Tinder - Delete Account
  4. You are given the option to pause your account or to delete. Select ‘Delete My Account’.
    Permanently Deleting Tinder - Pause Tinder Account
  5. You will be asked if you are sure you want to delete your Tinder account and asked to provide a reason for doing so. Select a reason for leaving.
    Permanently Deleting Tinder - Reason for Leaving
  6. You will be reminded that this action cannot be undone. Select ‘Delete My Account’.
    Permanently Deleting Tinder - Are You Sure
  7. You have successfully permanently deleted your Tinder account and can delete the app.

Downloading Your Tinder Data

Tinder retains your data for three months, to potentially be used for advertising purposes or shared with third parties. Therefore, you may want to know what data Tinder has collected from you before deleting your account, as you won’t have the chance once it is gone. To download your data:

    1. Go to Tinder’s ‘Download My Data’ tool through a web browser.
    2. Log into your Tinder account.
    3. Provide the email address where you would like a link to your data to be sent.
    4. Tinder is not specific on how long it will take for your link to come through (2-4 days), so check your account regularly as it will expire within 24 hours. Click the link to download your data. You can open your data using a JSON editor or by opening the html file.

Tinder claim that all the data you receive through their ‘Download My Data’ tool is largely already available through the app. However, an article in the Guardian newspaper in 2017 revealed just how much sensitive data Tinder was collecting, which included such things as Facebook ‘likes’, links to Instagram photos, education, and the location of each online conversation with every match.

Other Ways to Keep Your Data Secure Online

One of the simplest yet most effective ways to keep your data safe online and through apps is by choosing and maintaining secure passwords. It’s a bad idea to use the same password for multiple online accounts.

To keep your password secure, use two-factor authentication where possible, change your passwords regularly, and create long passwords as with each character added the harder it will be to crack. If you want to create strong and secure passwords for your online accounts, we have a tool that will help you generate them.

You can go one step further to protect your passwords by using a secure password manager, which will keep track of your passwords in an encrypted database. Your passwords will then be filled in automatically when you need them. Many web browsers have built-in password managers, but they may be more vulnerable to security risks than a third-party program.

Further Reading

If you do want to continue using dating websites and apps, you can further secure any sensitive data by using a VPN. Your data will be encrypted from hackers, even when using public wi-fi networks.

Check out the fastest VPNs so you never have to miss a match.

Was this helpful? Share it!